Listen Live
HomeNewsADSB breaks with tradition in naming new schools

ADSB breaks with tradition in naming new schools

New schools within the Algoma District School Board will no longer be named after individuals following a discussion among trustees at this week’s meeting.

Trustee Susan Myers voiced concerns about naming a school after a living person who could eventually do something inappropriate after receiving such an honour citing Toronto’s Ryerson University being renamed Metropolitan University due to Egerton Ryerson’s involvement in creating Canada’s residential school system in the 1840s.

The final decision came about when the discussion about naming a new school in Blind River was brought to the table.

Elaine Johnston, ADSB vice-chair and First Nation trustee and Debbie Shamas, North Shore – Highway 17 trustee, will both sit on the ad hoc naming committee for the school, which will house up to 380 students from both the ADSB and the Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario.

The French Public board will be naming its new school École publique des Pins Blancs.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading