A northern-based task force will be focusing on transportation needs and opportunities in the region.  Minister of Transportation Caroline Mulroney says the group of community-based leaders will examine ways to make it easier for people and goods to travel, while boosting economic growth in the North.

He says establishing a task force was one of more than 60 actions set out in the draft transportation plan for Northern Ontario.

Mulroney says the task force includes representation from Northern mayors, Indigenous Chiefs and other business and transportation leaders from across the region, adding more members may be added later.

Task force members include:

Danny Whalen (Co-Chair): President, Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM) and Councillor, City of Temiskaming Shores

Wendy Landry (Co-Chair): President, Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA) and Mayor, Municipality of Shuniah

Mayor Brian Bigger: Mayor of Greater Sudbury

Mayor Daniel Reynard: Mayor of Kenora

Mayor Dave Plourde: Mayor of Kapuskasing

Mayor Doug Lawrance: Mayor of Sioux Lookout

Mayor Johanne Baril: Mayor of the Municipality of Val Rita-Harty and President of NorthEastern Ontario Municipal Association

Grand Chief Ogichidaa Francis Kavanaugh: Grand Council Treaty #3

Chief Melvin Hardy: Northern Superior Regional Deputy Grand Council Chief, Anishinabek Nation

Kevin Eshkawkogan: CEO of Indigenous Tourism Ontario

Alan Spacek: Chair of the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission

Charles Cirtwill: President and CEO of the Northern Policy Institute

Ron Bumstead: Owner, Bumstead Trucking