The Ford government announced in its budget it would be reducing the number of health units in Ontario from 35 to 10 regionalized districts.

Algoma Public Health Associate Medical Officer of Health, Dr. Jennifer Loo, told Elliot Lake council it looks like all the health units in the North will be reduced to two.

She says currently there are five health units in the Northeast extending from the Algoma District east to Temiskaming.

But, the government has indicated they will be amalgamated into one and also possibly include Renfrew and Muskoka.

Consultations are underway with the government, but she adds there have been no definitive timelines set.

For the link to her presentation, go to